ARES / Skywarn

When Skywarn is activated, it will have an NCS on K4GSO. Skywarn only passes information. When and if at some point the weather begins to physically affect the county, such as wind damage begins to occur, Skywarn will shut down and ARES will take over.

If ARES is activated, you have to follow what it (ARES) is going to do. ARES is you best bet to relay information into the EOC or proper agency affected. And, radiograms will not be dealt with until the emergency situations have calmed down. BUT, no matter how you communicate, YOU MUST USE THE PROPER PHONETIC ALPHABET AND THE ICS213 FORM MESSAGE LAYOUT!

So, stay on the designated Marion County ARES repeater, K4GSO.

It will undoubtedly be busy, and have a net control operator. ARES doesn’t usually have set places to go when activated, unless requested by an authorized agency. Now that will probably be an NGO like the Red Cross.

The website has both the Silver Springs Radio Club and Marion County ARES information. This includes ARES repeater frequencies, websites, and practice nets to participate in.

Also check the National ARRL website, and the Northern Florida ARRL website at

ARRL Northern Florida Section – List of Counties

Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Calhoun, Citrus, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Escambia, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hernando, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Marion, Nassau, Okaloosa, Orange, Putnam, Santa Rosa, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia, Wakulla, Walton, Washington

ARRL Northern Florida Section – List of Districts

East Central District – Orange, Lake, Seminole
East Coast District – Flagler, Volusia
Capital District – Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Wakulla
East Panhandle District – Calhoun, Holmes, Jackson, Washington
Gulf Coast District – Bay, Franklin, Gulf
New River District – Baker, Bradford, Columbia, Union
Santa Fe District – Alachua, Dixie, Gilchrist, Levy
Suwannee District – Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor
West Panhandle District – Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton
Crown District – Clay, Duval, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns
West Central District – Citrus, Marion, Hernando, Sumter